Wednesday, August 31, 2011

Tuesday, August 30, 2011

Thursday, August 25, 2011

You talking like a beeg shot


Tag Toonz has some cool Jose Carioca comic strips from the 1940's:









Tuesday, August 23, 2011

Un-convention-al art


Art prints and convention sketches by Don Rosa:





















Monday, August 22, 2011

Secret Origins


Not a hoax!  Not an imaginary story! *

The Phantom Blot Revealed!!



*It's a hoax.

From Mickey Mouse Comics Digest, Gladstone Comics, 1987.
Art by Paul Murry



Where's Wall-E?





Saturday, August 20, 2011

Future Franchises of America


The AV Club's tongue-in-cheek "Strip Mining Nostalgia" looks to the pop culture past to predict the tentpole movie franchises of tomorrow, including the Gummi Bears and the motherf**king dumbass Wuzzles. Have I mentioned that I hate the freaking Wuzzles?  So much.  


Wednesday, August 17, 2011

Lo Brau


More art from the great Shawn Dickinson:






Tuesday, August 16, 2011

New Ghastly Merch!


New stuff from the Haunted Mansion's favorite surf/garage/punk band The Ghastly Ones!




Check it out here



Sunday, August 14, 2011

So, read any good comics lately?


So apparently while I was busy this summer, Boom put out a shitty Duck Tales comic.


I don't really have anything to contribute to this kerfuffle except to say that Boom put out some good Disney comics (Muppet Show, Darkwing Duck), some OK Disney comics (Ultraheroes, Wizards of Mickey), and some really awful Disney comics.  When it comes to comic books I tend to value novelty above all else, so Boom gets props for trying to shake things up with the license.  The Boom/ Disney experiment may be a failure, but at least it was never boring.  Whatever the future has in store for Disney comics, I hope Marvel has the good sense to try and reach out to kids and new readers, since the fan base for this material isn't getting any younger and will probably find plenty of things to complain about regardless.  And hey, it can't get any worse than this, right?


Kaboom, bitches!


Saturday, August 13, 2011

From Here to Eternity


Jim Korkis talks about one of my favorite comic book might-have-beens, The Uncensored Mouse.

Friday, August 12, 2011

Points off for using Comic Sans


I was looking for Mickey cartoons on YouTube when I found this:



I don't know if it's some kind of student project or something, but it's cute regardless.









Monday, August 8, 2011

A Brief Announcement


Hey gang.  I'll be taking a break from Blogger for a little while due to family commitments.  I should be back soon.  In the meantime I will check in with Tumblr when I can, and hopefully resume regular posting before too long.   Thanks for reading!




Friday, August 5, 2011

Duck Soup


Donald Duck Remix





Thursday, August 4, 2011

That's delicious



Donald Duck Orange Juice commercial


Wednesday, August 3, 2011

Unsurpassed


How great is this poster of Mickey and Minnie shilling gasoline:


I find Minnie's stole hilarious for some reason.  And check out Mickey's ascot!  What a find.



Tuesday, August 2, 2011